« back 

Primary Economy Sector

The primary sector of the economy in the Maltese Islands consists of three areas: Agriculture, Fisheries and Animal Welfare. All three economic sectors are the responsibility of the Parliamentary Secretary for Agriculture, Fisheries and Animal Rights

The Rural Development Department (Agriculture)
- promote the sustainable development of Malta’s agriculture,
- ensure the well being of its rural areas
- ensure a good standard of living for the agricultural community
Department of Fisheries and Aquaculture
- ensure the sustainability of fish species in the seas
- r‚Äčegulate activities concerning fisheries and aquaculture
- help the parties involved to educate themselves with current regulations
The Animal Welfare Promotion and Services Directorate
- promote and safeguard the welfare of all animals
- improve the lives and wellbeing of animals through education and public awareness
- enforce Maltese and EU Regulations about the proper treatment of animals and instigate penalties for animal abuse

Upcoming events