« back 

Primary and Secondary Education

Primary and Secondary Education (Compulsory Schooling)

Compulsory education between the age of 5 and 16 consists of a 6-year programme in Primary schools (ages 5 to 11) and a 5-year programme in Secondary schools (age level 11 to 16).

Students attending state education are provided with free textbooks and school transport. The non-state education sector is sub-divided into Church schools (pre-dominantly Roman Catholic) and Independent (Private) schools.

In parallel to this development, schools have been grouped into College Networks. Click on each College name to view the primary and/or secondary schools now included within each College catchment area. Each College is headed by a College Principal and consists of both feeder primary schools and at least two secondary schools. There is also an additional network of schools which caters for students with special needs.
Quality Assurance
The Directorate for Quality and Standards in Education (DQSE) within the Ministry of Education and Employment is centrally responsible for quality assurance within State Education establishments. It monitors and evaluates teaching, learning and administrative functions within State schools.

Upcoming events