« back 

The Law Courts

The Courts of Justice cater for all civil and criminal proceedings. The Courts of Justice:


  • provide case management support to the Judiciary to the benefit of the general public;
  • execute court orders for the benefit of the same public;
  • ensure that infrastructure and manpower requirements are available to provide these services.


The following is a list of the Courts of Justice:

  • Constitutional Court
  • Court of Appeal
  • Court of Criminal Appeal (Inferior and Superior)
  • Criminal Court
  • First Hall of the Civil Court
  • Civil Court Family Section
  • Civil Court Voluntary Jurisdiction Section
  • Court of Magistrates
  • Courts of Magistrates (Gozo)
  • Court of Revision of Notarial Acts
  • Small Claims Tribunal
  • Administrative Review Tribunal
  • The Juvenile Court


There are also ten Local Tribunals in Malta and Gozo which deal with depenalised offences.

For further information please refer to the Ministry of Justice and Home Affairs website by clicking here.

The Juvenile Court

The Probation Act

Upcoming events