« back 

Europe as a Continent

Europe is one of the seven continents. It is bordered by the Arctic Ocean and other seas to the north, the Atlantic Ocean to the west, the Mediterranean Sea to the south, and the Black Sea and connected sea channels to the southeast.


Europe is the world’s second smallest continent by surface area. It holds an approximation of 50 states, Russia being the largest by both area and population (although the country covers both Europe and Asia), while on the other hand Vatican City is the smallest. Europe is the third most populous continent after Asia and Africa, with about 11% of the world’s population.

Council of Europe

Upcoming events